Claude Debussy (Première Rhapsodie)
Pierre Boulez (Une page d’ephéméride)
Luc Van Hove (Le vieux port de Marseille)


Lazlo Moholy-Nagy

Musical team

Peter Merckx (clarinet, bass clarinet)
Geert Callaert (piano)

For two decades, HERMESensemble has devoted itself to lively performances of the greatest music from the 20th and 21st centuries. Pianist Geert Callaert and clarinetist Peter Merckx present you with a stream of pure sounds, beginning with the pictorial style of Claude Debussy and ending with Pierre Boulez’s final composition for solo piano.

They also contemplate on the delicate simplicity of Arvo Pärt’s Spiegel im Spiegel and enter into dialogue with the nostalgic images shot by Hungarian film maker László Moholy-Nagy. In 1929, the latter made a unique portrait of the old harbour of Marseille, for which Luc Van Hove composed music in 1998.