HERMESensemble From Zero to Nothing



Karlheinz Stockhausen (Prozession)
Rolf Gehlhaar (Grand Unified Theory of Everything)

Musical team

Jakob Fichert (piano)
Gaetan La Mela (tamtam)
Peter Merckx (microphone)
Karin de Fleyt (bass flute)
Stijn Saveniers (cello)
Jean-Marc Sullon (sound engineer)
Peter Merckx (clarinet)
Jakob Fichert (piano)

In 2015 Karin De Fleyt started a two-year research project entitled “From Zero to Nothing – Spirituality and the Arts in the Sixties”, in collaboration with HERMESensemble, Royal Conservatory Antwerp, The Royal Academy of Fine Arts Antwerp, the Zero Foundation and Inspiratum.

Central point of this research is the work of Karlheinz Stockhausen in relation to the Fluxus and Gutai movements during the 1960’s.

In 2015 HERMESensemble and Mary Bauermeister reconstructed a ‘happening’ with, among others, the legendary and magisterial work PROZESSION (1967) by Karlheinz Stockhausen.